Reading

Book review: Before I let you go by Kelly Rimmer

Genre: Family and relationship fiction

Rating: 5/5

Plot:

As children, Lexie and Annie were incredibly close. Bonded by the death of their beloved father, they weathered the storms of life together. When Lexie leaves home to follow her dream, Annie is forced to turn to her leatherbound journal as the only place she can confide her deepest secrets and fears…

As adults, sisters Lexie and Annie could not be more different. Lexie is a successful doctor and happily engaged. Annie is an addict – a thief, a liar and unable to remain clean. When Annie’s newborn baby is in danger of being placed in foster care, Annie picks up the phone to beg her sister for help. Will Lexie agree to take in her young niece? And how will Annie survive, losing the only thing in her life worth living for?

My verdict: I read this book in two days and I have absolutely become enamoured with Rimmer’s writing skills. Told from the view points of both sisters in childhood to the present day, the narrative is well researched when it comes to drug addiction, attachment issues and modern day cults and written in a sensitive manner when dealing with such heavy subject matters. I enjoyed Annie’s view points the most, I identified with her rebellious streak and feelings towards her addiction left me weeping at some stages. This book carries the message that the past can effect your future and you can’t run from it. This book also gets you thinking about the child endangerment law and by prosecuting these mothers, are we helping them make better choices? The answer in my opinion is no. Annie is one of the thousands of people let down by social services and by writing this heart breaking story Rimmer is providing us with a chance to start a dialogue about it and how we can make things better. Heartbreaking at times, this book is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlaine. A must read for everyone and it’s ultimate message to not judge someone based on the social prejudice of their illness. Also, remember that we are all human and that it’s never too late to turn things around and make a change for the better.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s