Reading · Writing

Book review: Someone else’s baby by Ruby Speechley

Genre: Thriller

Rating: 5/5

Plot: Charlotte Morgan knows how it feels to desperately want a baby. As a child, seeing her mum devastated by losing her longed-for babies, Charlotte wished another woman could give her mother what she so craved.

Now Charlotte’s a mum herself, and knowing how much love her daughter, Alice, brings into her life, she vows to help others achieve their dreams of becoming a parent.

When she meets Malcolm and Brenda on a surrogacy website, it seems she’s found the perfect couple. In their late forties, they have wealth and an enviable life, but there’s one thing missing – a child of their own.

When Charlotte falls pregnant with twins, the pair are overjoyed. And while Charlotte’s heart breaks as she hands them over, her reward is knowing how much happiness the two tiny babies are going to bring into their life.

But are Malcolm and Brenda all they seem? As secrets become unravelled, Charlotte is forced to face that she has given her children to virtual strangers. And when Malcolm and Brenda disappear without a trace, Charlotte is plunged into a frantic search for the babies she carried – before it’s too late…

My verdict: This book pulls at my heartstrings; A woman trying to do good is seemingly duped into giving her children away causing national uproar and the manhunt for their children’s kidnapper turned murderer. As the manhunt ensues secrets come to light and Charlotte realises that her twins are in grave danger. The writing is quick and sharp with short chapters and hooks that makes you want to keep reading on and on. The writing is clever and has good pace with a level of soap opera tension. Charlotte’s backstory and reason for being a surrogate pulls at your heartstrings. A fantastic debut for Ruby Speechly I look forward to seeing what she writes in the future. Perfect for fans of CL Taylor! Cancel all your plans you won’t want to put this book down, bravo Ruby! this book is a rollercoaster of emotions, heartbreak, joy, fear and revelation. It left me with goosebumps and stayed with me long after I finished it I don’t usually get spooked when reading a book but I had to read with the radio on the company So I didn’t get too scared!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s