Reading

Book review: just breathe by Cammie McGovern

Rating: 5/5

Genre: YA/ mental health/ disability

Plot:

David Scheinman is the popular president of his senior class, battling cystic fibrosis.

Jamie Turner is a quiet sophomore, struggling with depression.

The pair soon realizes that they’re able to be more themselves with each other than they can be with anyone else, and their unlikely friendship starts to turn into something so much more.

But neither Jamie nor David can bring themselves to reveal the secrets that weigh most heavily on their hearts—and their time for honesty may be running out.

My verdict: I love this unflinchingly honest book about life with a disability and a mental illness. McGovern doesn’t sugarcoat her stories which is refreshingly honest especially in YA. not since john’s green’s The Fault in our stars have I read such brazen writing about living with a debilitating illness without it being Uber positive or overly sad. This book deals with taboo subjects that most adult authors only skim across the surface. Mgovern’s writing is sympathetic but strikes a fine balance between not talking down to the reader and informing them. A highly underrated novelist who people need to sit up and take not of. A heartwarming novel about living life to the fullest and finding light in the darkest times. Fans of John Green and Julie Murphy will love Cammie McGovern. I am certainly glad I found her in 2013 when I read her debut novel, ‘Say what you will’ (Or published as ‘The Story of Amy and Matthew’ in the UK)

Cover belongs to Cammie McGovern and Harperteen books. Click on the image to be taken to Amazon so you may buy a copy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s