Writing

Book review: Homecoming by Ellie Dean

Cover belongs to Ellie Dean. Click the image to be taken to Fantastic Fiction to buy your copy.

Genre: Historical Fiction/ World War II Story/ Romance

Rating: 5/5

Plot:

Peace has finally been declared in the Far East, but for those living at Beach View Boarding House, the news brings mixed emotions.

Peggy Reilly is devastated that her husband Jim will not be coming home for Christmas. And Sarah and Jane, who have lived at Beach View throughout much of the conflict, dread what they will find when they go back to Singapore.

Life in Cliffehaven is in a whirlwind of change as the men return from the war and Peggy’s evacuee chicks begin to spread their wings and start new lives in different corners of the world.

Peggy and Jim have longed to be together after so many years apart, but war has left them profoundly changed. Can they rekindle the loving, close relationship they’d shared before?

My verdict: This book for me was bittersweet as I’ve been a fan of the series since book one in 2011. I completely understand the authors choice to end the series at the end of the war because, for me as a reader to watch our beloved characters decline would be horrible to watch. This final book is written with such warmth, love and passion that I couldn’t help crying as I read the final pages. Not only does the author write about how this conflict affected those but also with such sensitivity and poignancy about a period of time where their was so much political turmoil. She doesn’t sugarcoat the affects of this time period but doesn’t sensationalised them either. The characters are so real and vivid that you can’t help but befriend them. The way Mrs Dean intertwined several points of view and plots is fantastic because it it is easy to follow and yet told in such detail you can’t help but become emotionally involved. This book did not disappoint, I devoured it in two days with lots of tea and tissues. The magic of cliffhaven and it’s residents is that we can all relate to them in some way. Fans of Annie Groves, Lynda Page and Nadine Dorries will love this saga. Reading a cliffheaven novel is like putting on a pair of comfortable slippers or a cuppa in your favourite mug, just bliss to read and heartwrenching at the same time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s