Reading · Writing

Book Review: The family by Louise Jensen

Genre: Thriller

Plot:

At Oak Leaf Farm you will find a haven.

Welcome to The Family.

Laura is grieving after the sudden death of her husband. Struggling to cope emotionally and financially, Laura is grateful when a local community, Oak Leaf Organics, offer her and her 17-year-old daughter Tilly a home.

 

But as Laura and Tilly settle into life with their new ‘family’, sinister things begin to happen. When one of the community dies in suspicious circumstances Laura wants to leave but Tilly, enthralled by the charismatic leader, Alex, refuses to go.

 

Desperately searching for a way to save her daughter, Laura uncovers a horrifying secret but Alex and his family aren’t the only ones with something to hide. Just as Laura has been digging into their past, they’ve been digging into hers and she discovers the terrifying reason they invited her and Tilly in, and why they’ll never let them leave…

Rating: 5/5

My verdict: Never has a book made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up like this book. Jensen’s writing is dark and twisted that it spooked me and yet at the same time I couldn’t stop or want to stop reading. Chapters are short and sharp with so detail and emotion that it becomes addictive. With each chapter comes a new piece of the puzzle that the reader must put together. This book isn’t just about grief but about surviving, rising from the ashes of destruction and forging a new life in an alien landscape where you don’t know the language or culture. Jensen writes with such passion that you can’t help but admire it. When you read one of her books it’s like being drip fed a water after months of dehydration, it’s utter bliss that you can’t help but want more. This book not only touches on grief but identity, provides an in-depth look at how we forge relationships and how we react to actions in our early years shapes our future. This book also touches on loyalty and how we should always trust our gut instinct. The ending was one not even I could predict, I was totally immersed in the narrative that I couldn’t help but watch even when I knew things were headed the wrong way. Ultimately this book teaches us lots of things of how we can be blinded by our admiration for someone that we ignore the fact that they are bad for us, how we often put our trust in the wrong people and you can’t run from the past or hide from the truth. Loved the different points of view with each chapter, it was interesting to see how individuals reacted to events around them. Fans of Gone Girl and YOU will love this thriller with as many twists and turns as a derailed Roller Coaster.

Click the image to be taken to amazon to purchase your copy. Cover property of Louise Jensen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s