Reading · Writing

Book review: Every little Secret by Ruby Speechley

Genre: Thriller/Mystery

Rating:

She believed the lies… The truth will destroy her.

Maddy Saunders’ life is unravelling. After the heartbreaking, unexpected death of 5-year-old daughter Chloe, she’s trying desperately to keep her family together for other daughter, Emily. But when the police inform her that husband Max is missing, the rucksack found at the bottom of a local canal leading them to believe he has taken his own life, her grief takes a new and sharper turn.

Unable to believe that Max would abandon her and Emily, Maddy desperately searches for clues as to what has happened to her husband. But as she delves deeper into his secrets, Maddy finds a web of betrayal that forces her to re-examine everything about the life they have built together.

Maddened by grief, and forced into untangling Max’s lies, Maddy will stop at nothing to uncover the truth – even if it destroys her in the process.

A gripping, absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller that will have you hooked – perfect for fans of K.L. Slater, Shalini Boland and B.A. Paris.

Verdict: I was overjoyed when Netgalley told me that I could read and review Ruby Speechley’s latest thriller. I was not disappointed in the least, with every chapter and alternating narrative gave us a new clue to the mystery that us readers had to unravel like a spool of tangled wool. This book has everything from heartbreak, jealousy, a need for revenge and the need to have the perfect family life. This book is a warning to us all that secrets and white lies will snowball and eventually the secret keepers pot of lies will boil over, scalding them and their loved ones.

The characters are very realistic and in the end I had sympathy for all the characters as their poor starts in life leads to a maze of mystery and heartache. This book deals with grief, mental health as well as infidelity. Speechley very cleverly portrays the human instinct to yearn for wanting to have your cake and eat it, and the natural instinct to ensure that those who hurt the innocent caught in the crossfire exact their own revenge and make the perpetrator of their heartache suffer.

A spine chilling thriller reminiscent of the BBC drama, Mrs Wilson. Ruby speechley is hot on the heels of Shalini Boland and CL Taylor. This book will keep you up all night wondering how someone could commit such an act and thinking they could get away with it. Emotive and fast paced

Click the cover to be taken to kobo to order your copy (Courtesy of NetGalley and Ruby Speechley.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s