Writing

Book Review: The Lost Daughter by Gill Paul

Genre: Historical Fiction

Rating: 5/5

Plot:

A Russian princess. An extraordinary sacrifice. A captivating secret…

From the author of The Secret Wife, a gripping journey through decades and across continents, of love, devastating loss and courage against all odds.

1918
With the country they once ruled turned against them, the future of Russia’s imperial family hangs in the balance. When middle daughter Maria Romanova captivates two of the guards, it will lead to a fateful choice between right and wrong.

Fifty-five years later . . .
Val rushes to her father’s side when she hears of his troubling end-of-life confession: ‘I didn’t want to kill her.’ As she unravels the secrets behind her mother’s disappearance when she was twelve years old, she finds herself caught up in one of the world’s greatest mysteries.

My verdict; A beautiful moving narrative set in the time of political uproar in Russia surrounding the imperial family. Stark. Honest and at times utterly heartbreaking to read but another great ‘What if’ in regards to the survival of the Romanovs. In 1970’s Australian daughter of Russian father Val must piece together the pieces of the puzzle to understand the meaning behind her cold father’s ramblings. Val is also fleeing an abusive husband and disheartening past and with the story of her father’s involvement with the Romanov comes to light Val discovers an inner strength and curiosity that she didn’t think she hard. I loved the differences in time periods, it’s very well researched and brutally honest that I felt I was in Russia myself. The author’s writing is emotive and very carefully intertwines contrasting time periods that takes you on an emotional rollercoaster – Fans of Dinah Jefferies and Diney Costello as well as history buffs will become entranced with this tragic tale and ultimately all characters are trying to build a new life of the ashes of their sordid past. Gill is definitely a new favourite of mine and I am proud to include this semi real fairy tale into my collection of novels about the rise and fall of the Romanovs

Click the cover to be taken to Amazon to buy your copy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s