Writing

Book review: The Guilty Mother by Diane Jeffrey

Genre: Domestic Thriller

Rating; 5/5

Plot:

Melissa Slade had it all: beauty, money, a successful husband and beautiful twin babies. But, in the blink of an eye, her perfect life became a nightmare – when she found herself on trial for the murder of her little girls.

PRESENT DAY

Jonathan Hunt covered the original Slade Babies’ case for the local newspaper. Now that new evidence has come to light, Jon’s boss wants him back on the story to uncover the truth.

With Melissa’s appeal date looming, time is running out. And, as Jon gets drawn deeper into a case he’d wanted to forget, he starts to question Melissa’s guilt.

Is Melissa manipulating Jon or telling him the truth? Is she a murderer, or the victim of a miscarriage of justice?

And if Melissa Slade is innocent, what really happened to Ellie and Amber Slade?

My verdict: A brilliant domestic thriller which keeps you guessing till the very end. The subplots of sexual abuse, sudden infant death syndrome and the treatment of police officers in general prison are so brilliantly weaved together that you don’t really notice the issues raised during the narrative but they stay long with you after you’ve finished reading. I stayed up till 10 pm to read this book. I couldn’t even guess the ending. Ultimately this book is about one tragic event that could’ve been prevented but ends up being the catalyst for the events that follow leaving the main character spiralling deeper and deeper into guilt I’m finding that there is no way out. It also shows how event like this can shape the future years of those around them. One thing I would say is that please don’t take the main characters narrative at face value and give up halfway through, there is much more heartache and drama to this story then at first glance. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Shalini Poland and Diane Chamberlain will live this poignant and at times hair raising thriller.

Click the link to be taken to goodreads so that you can read of the reviews and find out where to get your copy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s