Reading · Writing

Book Review: The Babysitter by Phoebe Morgan

Genre: Thriller

Rating: 5/5

Plot:

On the hottest day of the year, Caroline Harvey is found dead in Suffolk. Her body is left draped over a cot – but the baby she was looking after is missing.  

Hundreds of miles away, Siobhan Dillon is on a luxurious family holiday in France when her husband, Callum, is arrested by French police on suspicion of murder.
 
As Siobhan’s perfect family is torn apart by the media in the nation’s frantic search for the missing baby, she desperately tries to piece together how Callum knew Caroline.

What happened that night? Was Caroline as innocent as she seemed – or was she hiding a secret of her own?

The thrilling new book from the number one digital bestselling author of The Doll House and The Girl Next Door.

My verdict: Firstly Thank you to Netgalley for letting me reader this spine chilling crime thriller prior to its release tomorrow. This book has everything: infedility, teenage angst, loneliness and murder. I read this book in a day and a half and I am so thrilled to be introduced to Phoebe Morgan her unique way of giving the reader the chills and making you question your allegiance to the main characters and if we can truly rely on the narrator to give us truth: Told with alternating narratives and timelines we slowly begin to uncover what happened that fateful night when everyone became embroiled together all because of this one man’s misogynistic urge to have his cake and eat and ultimately how the fall out affects everyone around him. Fast paced and thrilling it answers the eternal question that all crime novels ask: How much do we know about a person? I stayed up all night this book because whenever I got to the end of a chapter another piece of the puzzle would be unveiled and I was so desperate to know what happened. Fans of Shalini Boland, and BBC’s drama The Cry starring Jenna Coleman will throughly enjoy this newest thriller and become obsessed with separating the facts from fiction (with plenty of red herrings added to throw you off the scent, coming to a conclusion you could never imagine)

Click the link to be taken to Amazon so you may preorder your copy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s