Reading · Writing

Book Review: Myface by Kevin Landt

Genre: New Adult Novella

Rating: 2.5/5

Myface is the perfect read for fans of Chuck Palahniuk and Bret Easton Ellis, less so for social media giants (who definitely won’t want you to read this!).

With more than half the global population now on social media, this YA/NA contemporary fiction novella explores its negative side.

Catfishing can be a deadly business, especially when social media mega-influencer Angela Fox has you in her sights. When Angela Fox’s Myface account is selected as Hottest User of the Month, there’s only one problem: she isn’t real. As the fake Angela takes the world by storm, a group of strangers struggle to escape a twisted web of narcissism, deceit, and revenge.

L.A. hotshot Sebastian Shafer is so desperate to get a job, he creates an elaborate plan to convince his future employer that, if hired, Sebastian’s association with “Hollywood socialite” Angela Fox will bring in the sales. The only issue is he needs to convince the world that she actually exists.

Angela draws more attention than Sebastian anticipated when her profile gains millions of followers and fame seekers desperately try to catch her attention. But things really get out of control when a handsome young stage-play director winds up dead. The question is who pulled the trigger?

My verdict: I loved the premise of the novel and thought it really reflected on our attitudes towards social media and catfishing however, I thought the choppy writing style, use of fantasies and alternate points of view made it rather confusing to read, whilst I appreciate the idea of a novella is to be precise and to the point I thought this limited the author from exploring themes such as infertility, our online social media personas and the pressures and that comes with being in the public eye in dog eat dog society. There is promise with the writing however I just thought it was a bit obvious in terms of plot and had caricatures rather than characters we could emotionally connect with despite their lives corresponding with relevant issues faced in our modern-day society. Perhaps this would be better suited as a play or short film? I’m also a bit perplexed as to why it was marketed as a young adults book considering it’s adult themes (that’s not to say I don’t think teenage readers could handle this I just think they would find it a bit difficult to relate to even with the aspect of social media) 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s