Reading · Writing

Book Review: The girl she wanted by K. L. Slater

Genre: New adult thriller Plot: I trust my sister Carrie with my daughter’s life. But then she’s accused of a terrible crime. Carrie lives under our roof, she pushes my daughter on the swings, she takes her out for ice cream. You might ask, why do I let her? Why would I risk my darling… Continue reading Book Review: The girl she wanted by K. L. Slater

Reading · Writing

Book Review: The Henna Wars by Adiba Jaigirdar

Genre: Teen/YA Rating: 5/5 Plot: Nishat and Flávia are rivals at school, but Nishat can't help the secret crush burning in her heart - even though her parents disapprove of the fact she likes girls. Can she possibly find her happy ever after? A gorgeous, heart-warming, queer YA love story for fans of Becky Albertalli.… Continue reading Book Review: The Henna Wars by Adiba Jaigirdar

Reading · Writing

Book Review: Hijab And Red Lipstick by Yousra Imran

Genre: Adult Fiction Rating: 5/5 Plot: You cannot do anything in this country without my permission.” Being a teenager isn't easy. And it doesn't help when you have a mega strict Egyptian dad who tells you that everything is "haram" a.k.a. forbidden. All Sara wants to do is experiment with makeup, listen to the latest… Continue reading Book Review: Hijab And Red Lipstick by Yousra Imran

Reading · Writing

Book Review: Myface by Kevin Landt

Genre: New Adult Novella Rating: 2.5/5 Myface is the perfect read for fans of Chuck Palahniuk and Bret Easton Ellis, less so for social media giants (who definitely won't want you to read this!). With more than half the global population now on social media, this YA/NA contemporary fiction novella explores its negative side. Catfishing… Continue reading Book Review: Myface by Kevin Landt

Reading · Writing

Book Review: The Wife by Shalini Boland

Rating: 5/5 Genre: Thriller Plot: It was supposed to be the happiest day of her life. Zoe was sitting in her hotel room, in her perfect white dress, looking forward to the moment when she would make kind, handsome Toby her husband. Then, there was a blank. They said she must have fainted, overcome with… Continue reading Book Review: The Wife by Shalini Boland

Reading · Writing

Book Review: Keep Your Friends close by Janelle Harris

Genre: Domestic Fiction Rating: 4/5 Plot: Darcy Hogan’s perfect life is all over social media. She’s beautiful, she’s successful, and she and her childhood sweetheart are about to become parents for the first time. But behind all the followers and the superficial likes lurks a darker truth… In reality, Darcy feels isolated and afraid. Her… Continue reading Book Review: Keep Your Friends close by Janelle Harris

Reading · Writing

Book Review: My only child by Sam Vickery

Genre: Domestic Fiction Rating: 5/5 Plot: It’s a miracle when Katherine’s baby boy is born healthy. But his twin sister doesn’t survive, and when Katherine is told she can’t have any more children the loss is almost too much for her to bear. Katherine always saw herself having a big family: she remembers how the… Continue reading Book Review: My only child by Sam Vickery

Reading · Writing

Book Review: The little village library by Helen Rolfe

Genre: Fiction Rating: 4/5 Plot: It takes a village…Cloverdale is known for its winding roads, undulating hills and colourful cottages, and now for its Library of Shared Things: a place where locals can borrow anything they might need, from badminton sets to waffle makers. A place where the community can come together. Jennifer has devoted… Continue reading Book Review: The little village library by Helen Rolfe

Reading · Writing

Book Review: The Forgotten orphan by Glynis Peters

Genre Historical fiction Rating: 5/5 Plot: From the internationally bestselling author of The Secret Orphan. A world at warA secret from her pastA chance to be together… A moving and compelling historical novel about love, second chances and resilience in the darkest of timesSouthampton 1940 Abandoned when she was tiny, Maisie Reynolds was separated from… Continue reading Book Review: The Forgotten orphan by Glynis Peters

Reading · Writing

Book Review: Tiny Pretty Things By Dhonielle Clayton and Sona Charaipotra

Genre: Teen/Ya Rating: 2/5 Plot: Black Swan meets Pretty Little Liars in this soapy, drama-packed novel featuring diverse characters who will do anything to be the prima at their elite ballet school. From the New York Times-bestselling author of The Belles, Dhonielle Clayton, and the author of the highly anticipated Symptoms of a Heartbreak, Sona… Continue reading Book Review: Tiny Pretty Things By Dhonielle Clayton and Sona Charaipotra